Ukulele in the Dark SHOP


(prices in CANADIAN DOLLARS $1CAN = about 75 cents US)


The Chord Melody Book for Ukulele by Guido Heistek

Screen Shot 2016-04-16 at 2.09.13 PMGraphic Design and Layout: Polly Wilson

Chord Melody is the art of playing chords and melody at the same time. It is a solo ukulele technique that allows you to play beautiful and complete song arrangements on your own. This book will show you how to do it, step by step.

Two versions are provided of each arrangement in the book: one sparse and beginner-friendly, and another more technically challenging for the more advanced player. Each arrangement works equally well on high-G or low-G instruments. Detailed performance notes are provided along with links to online video demos. The flexible and innovative layout also features the chords, lyrics and melody; so you can strum and sing the song, or pick the melody on its own, before you embark on learning the chord melody arrangement. Everything you need for your solo ukulele adventure!


The book is 68 pages, spiral bound on nice thick stock for minimum show-through. Dimensions are 8 3/4″ by 11 3/4″, just a quarter inch smaller than 9″ x 12″.


Includes a Free Digital Download PDF Version (online purchases only)
($30 CAN + Shipping and handling)
Add to Cart

2. BUY the E-Book (DIGITAL DOWNLOAD in PDF format)
($25 CAN)
Add to Cart

Here is a playlist of all the 20 video song demos for the book. You can browse through the videos and hear what you will learn! Remember, there are two versions of each song.

The Songs (two versions of each):

1. Abide With Me
2. After You’ve Gone
3. Cielito Lindo
4. Danny Boy
5. My Buddy
6. Peg o’ My Heart
7. St. James Infirmary
8. Sleeping Beauty Waltz
9. When I Lost You
10. You Made Me Love You

There are two ways to order a copy of The Chord Melody Book for Ukulele.
You can order a physical copy of the book which comes with a complimentary digital version of the book, or you can buy the digital version on its own.

(prices in CANADIAN DOLLARS $1CAN = about 75 cents US)


-a listening based approach to strumming the UKULELE-

1. Buy the physical DVD and get a free DIGITAL VERSION to download to your computer!

$30 CAN + shipping for DVD and free digital version
(The digital version is designed for download to computer. Will not download directly to mobile devices.)
Add to Cart

2. Buy the DOWNLOAD VERSION on its own.
$25 CAN (Designed for download to computer. Will not download directly to mobile devices.)
Add to Cart

Tired of trying to figure out D D D U U D U? Can’t sing and strum at the same time? Can’t figure out which strumming pattern to use on a song? Let Guido free your natural strum by showing you how to get out of the way of your innate sense of music. In this DVD, Guido uses revolutionary techniques to get ANYONE strumming by ear – so you’ll have no need to memorize patterns of Downs and Ups, count out beats, or get stuck in your head anymore. Learn how to play swing feels, songs in 3 and 4, latin rhythms, muting and more. Also learn Guido’s original PAPER STRUM TECHNIQUE: strum anywhere, even when you don’t have a ukulele!

“The best strumming DVD I have ever seen”
-Jim D’Ville, Play Ukulele by Ear

“I just finished watching Hear The Strum for the first time. WOW it is just what I have been thinking for the past few years. It’s the best approach to learning to play the ukulele, if you want it to stay with you.”
-Chuck, USA

“I had always believed only certain people had the gift of being able to play by ear.I learned that anyone can play by ear. I learned that I can play by ear! I just need to open my ears and truly listen. This insight has opened up a whole new world of ukelele playing for me. And Guido’s way of teaching strumming has caused my strumming anxiety’ to totally disappear.”
-Joyanne Landers, Student
(prices in CANADIAN DOLLARS $1CAN = about 75 cents US)



16 solo ukulele performances recorded live in studio at Vancouver Live Sound and presented with intimate clarity. The goal of this record is to create the illusion of a private solo ukulele concert in your home.

1. Buy the physical CD and get a free DIGITAL VERSION to download to your computer!

$16 CAN+ shipping for CD and free digital version
(The digital version is designed for download to computer. Will not download directly to mobile devices.)
Add to Cart

2. Buy the DIGITAL VERSION on its own.
$10 CAN for digital download (high-quality MP3 format)
(Designed for download to computer. Will not download directly to mobile devices.)
Add to Cart

“Solo Ukulele is every bit as worthy as the works of Eddie Kamae and Lyle Ritz…”
-MIKE USINGER, The Georgia Straight
click here for full review

“What I most appreciate about Guido’s work is how he melds each song with the beautiful sonic capabilities of the ukulele (his Martins are phenomenal). His technique, remarkable as it is, does not detract attention from the music and his delivery is awesome.”

-KIMO HUSSEY, Ukulele Legend

“On display here are the wonderfully expressive capabilities of the ukulele as well as Guido Heistek’s obvious love of gorgeous melodies. The sixteen musical gems on Guido Heistek’s recording Solo Ukulele are delightful, unpretentious and beautifully performed. You feel like Guido is playing a solo concert just for you.”
-BILL COON, 2009 National Jazz Awards Guitarist of the Year

1. In a Sentimental Mood 2:17 (click to listen)
2. Mood Indigo 2:30 (click to listen)
3. On Green Dolphin Street 2:26
4. I Can’t Get Started with You 2:20
5. I’ll See You in My Dreams 2:17
6. Honeysuckle Rose 1:49
7. Moon River 2:14
8. Stolen Pieces-Ferry Song #2 2:43
9. My Buddy 1:42
10. Sleeping Beauty Waltz 1:22
11. Ain’t Misbehavin’ 1:46
12. Over the Rainbow 2:25
13. Spanish Melody-Variation 1:11
14. In the Bones-Ferry Song #1 2:21
15. Amazing Grace 1:46
16. Moon River-Vocal Version 2:55

(prices in CANADIAN DOLLARS $1CAN = about 75 cents US)

*FOR WHOLESALE INQUIRIES PLEASE CONTACT moc.kradehtnielelukunull@ofni

View Cart